Wednesday, November 09, 2016

Dark Tranquility - 2016 - Atoma

Dark Tranquility is a melodic death metal band from Gothenburg, Sweden. Formed in 1989 they are one of the longest lasting bands from the Gothenburg metal scene. Atoma is their eleventh studio LP courtesy of Century Media. In terms of instrumentation there are no surprises here. Start with the already tempered attack of melodic death metal then mix in post-metal, giving the songs room to breathe, allowing them to stretch out into extended melodic passages.

I cannot say enough good things about the vocals on this LP. The singer has an excellent blackened growl that he puts to great effect and is pushed higher with the contrast of the frankly beautiful clean vocals. Highlights include Encircled, Neutrality, Force Of Hand, Faithless By Default and The Pitiless. If you're looking for some melodic death metal to help power through your day Dark Tranquility's Atoma will serve well.