Wednesday, November 16, 2016

Simple Minds - 2016 - Acoustic

Simple Minds is a five piece rock and roll band from Glasgow, Scotland. Acoustic is their nineteenth studio LP, rerecording eleven tracks from eight previous Simple Minds LPs. Perhaps best known for the song from The Breakfast Club Don't You (Forget About Me) this LP finds Simple Minds swapping out electric guitars for acoustic and synthesizers for piano. On songs like Sanctify Yourself and New Gold Dream (81-82-83-84) Simple Minds still rock out but any previous edge has been sanded off.

Despite the addition of KT Tunstall these recordings have turned out bland instead of raw. Yes the instruments are mostly acoustic but the production style erases any rough edges. On songs like See The Lights and Glittering Prize they approach something like U2 which may or may not be a compliment.. Highlights include the aforementioned Sanctify Yourself, New Gold Dream (81-82-83-84), Promised You A Miracle, Glittering Prize, Someone Somewhere In Summertime and of course Don't You (Forget About Me). If you're looking for some relaxing, acoustic rock Simple Mind's Acoustic has you covered.